with Jason Robinson
In this episode of the Quit Getting Screwed Podcast, Karalynn returns to her lien laws series to discuss the steps required to have the leverage a lien provides in the state of Utah. She is joined by Jason Robinson, a long-time Utah construction lawyer and industry specialist. Together, Karalynn and Jason explain just what it takes to ensure your liens are valid in Utah.
Like Karalynn, Jason has a background in construction. Jason explains that, while growing up, his father worked for a few contracting companies, primarily as an estimator. His dad “encouraged [them] to be involved in construction” when they began their journey into the working world. He loved the industry and thought it would be a wonderful place for his sons to grow personally and professionally. Today, two of Jason’s younger brothers are in the industry due to their father’s encouragement. Unlike his siblings, Jason wanted to work in law. However, little did they realize that his law degree would lead him right back to the construction industry. In speaking with him, Jason clarifies how much he admires professionals in the industry, and there is nowhere he would rather be.
Let The Cromeens Law Firm Help You Quit Getting Screwed!
Collecting what is yours is crucial to the livelihood of your business.
We have a team ready to take your call to protect what is yours, collect what is yours, and help you educate yourself!
In Utah, Jason explains, both pre-construction workers and construction workers must file their preliminary notice on the state website 20 days from the first day of work. If pre-construction contractors miss this deadline, they forfeit their lien rights completely. Alternatively, if construction workers file their preliminary notice late, they can still file but receive a five-day penalty and are only protected by their lien rights moving forward. This means that they do not have lien rights on whatever work was done before the 20-day notice was supposed to be filed. Noting that filing costs only $1.25, Jason’s advice to contractors wondering which projects they should file a preliminary notice on in Utah is “file a preliminary notice on the projects you want to be paid for.”
Utah has a lot of specific rules to unpack, many of which are completely unique from the rest of the country. In this episode, Jason takes the time needed to dive into every detail of Utah’s lien laws. If you are a contractor in the state of Utah, this episode is an essential listen for the success of your business. From licensing to lien rights, Jason has a lot of incredibly valuable information to help you build a better business. Invest in your company’s success by subscribing to The Quit Getting Screwed podcast if you like this episode. For more from Karalynn, follow The Cromeens Law Firm on Facebook, LinkedIn, or Instagram. You can also purchase the book that started it all, Quit Getting Screwed, on Amazon.
This article is intended as a general educational overview of the subject matter and is not intended to be a comprehensive survey of recent jurisprudence, nor a substitute for legal advice for a specific legal matter. If you have a legal issue, consult an attorney.